Friday favorites

1) NPR

It occurred to me this morning after a WOD that included lots of jumping rope (I can’t do those things they call “double unders,” so to me it’s just jumping rope), I look like I’ve been reading too much 50 Shades of Grey. You get that thing spinning and it smacks the hell out of you. Ow.

I haven’t actually read the book, but NPR brings me gems like the confusion of the best-selling soft-core S&M novel with a historical fiction about Lithuania and Stalin, Between Shades of Grey. It actually really made me want to read the historical fiction.

Commuting to graduate school in Minnesota got me hooked on NPR and MPR; I was really worried when I moved back South that I would lack for great local news coverage. No worries. WUNC, NC’s NPR affiliate, is fantastic.

I won’t lie. Once in a while I have to laugh at the pretentious music and tone of some of the programs. And as much as Garrison Keillor finds himself sexy, sorry, bud. I don’t get the good kind of tingles when I hear your voice.

What rhymes with Minnesota?

2) myfitnesspal.com

Yes, experiment #1 is going well! So easy to use and customize. Any food you could possibly eat and most of the macronutrient info. The People Who (Think They) Know recommend no more than 20g/sugar/day for a woman. You guys that is HARD. If you eat any kind of flavored yogurt, fruit, salad dressing… or a couple of squares of 85% cocoa dark chocolate.

3) Dark chocolate. Does that need an explanation?

If you’re willing to pay $10 for a chocolate bar, we can’t be friends. Unless you share.

4) Kettlebells.

If I had to pick one thing in CrossFit I a) am pretty decent at b) don’t groan when I hear we’re doing it c) find fun, it would be these puppies. Possibly because I got a 18lb one off slickdeals.net for $13 shipped and did youtube workouts before I joined a gym when I moved here. Or because I took a “how to” class at Mayo so my form is pretty good. 18 lbs is too light now, but it’s not far off for a one-arm snatch. Today, we did high pulls. I recommend KBs to everyone, and now you can buy them at Target.

Today’s workout combined running (ugh), double-unders (I subbed singles, and again, ugh), kettlebell high pulls (yay!) and hand stand push ups. That’s right, people get into handstands and then lower themselves and push themselves back up. Crazies. I just did regular pushups.

A chocolate kettlebell. Proof that god loves us and wants us to be happy.

5) Musicals.

I haven’t seen one since… Hairspray in NYC in 2008 I think? Tonight, Matt is taking me (well, I’m meeting him there since he won’t get off work in time to come home first) to see Wicked at the Durham Performing Arts Center (DPAC). He purchased the tickets for Valentine’s Day and I’m excited he’s actually coming along.

Difference between my loving spouse and me: I think life would be more awesome with theme songs, choreography and spontaneous bursts of song. That would drive Matt to recuse his citizenship as an Earthling. He’ll get over it; the DPAC is awesome and this is actually a Broadway tour, unlike that god-awful version of Rent we saw in Rochester before we fully realized how out in the boonies we were.

Guess which one plays me?

Hope you all have a great weekend. I’m off to a wedding in Wilmington, which will certainly derail me a bit but I’m going to try to keep it together. But cake! Wedding cake!

Leave a Reply

