Vacation Bootie

Alright, alright, I’ve been back for almost a week. But I just started life again. I worked Thursday and Friday of last week, but contractors don’t get things like PTO, so I had no choice.

Costa Rica was fabulous. Just driving around the country was an adventure. We didn’t even get a flat, which I consider a remarkable accomplishment, considering the crazy roads in CR.

I won’t give you a play-by-play, but highlights included snorkeling (sharks! blowfish! eels! trigger fish! coral! sea stars!), horseback riding through the jungle and on the beach, ziplining 700 ft above the ground at 50 mph for half a mile, glorious hot springs in the rain, a cookout on an island, a walk to a cool waterfall, wildlife spotting (parrots! monkeys! huge frogs and lizards! peccary! the aforementioned marine species!), acquiring a gnarly sunburn, and a dance party with Matt, Sam and my future brother-in-law, Chase (henceforth known as Cowbrother).

Oh, and on the way home I read the first two books in the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. Matt: “Is it well-written?” Deb: “The parts that matter are.” I felt eerily like I was reading an adult version of Twilight (which I dislike vehemently and couldn’t read past book two) with all the dangerous-but-I-want-him-anyway mysterious male thing. Hm. For beach reading, I chose Silas House’s Coal Tattoo. Amazing story and writer. Totally distracted me from the fact that I was wearing a bathing suit. Halter tops are great for keeping larger girls in place, but hanging 10 lbs. of boobs around your neck for an entire day gets pretty tiring. Try it, guys. Just hang a nice big weight on a necklace and wear it there for a few hours.

Anyway, I gave myself a few days to get back in the swing of things, food and gym-wise. I started back on myfitnesspal.com today and went to the 6:15 workout at CrossFit Durham. Today’s WOD:

Establish 1 rep max (RM) for narrow-grip bench press: I failed twice at 73#, got the third one up.

5 rounds for time:

5 snatch-grip deadlift (Rxed 155, I did 73#)
10 knees-to-elbow (I did the first round jumping on the bar, the last 4 on the floor)
15 box jumps (Rxed 20″, box jumps are my definite weakness, I did 12″)

11:00

The combination of these three moves totally wrecked my right SI joint that I usually baby, but after two weeks off, I got lazy and forgot to be good to my injury-prone areas. Well… I thought 12″ box jumps WAS babying it… and going at half the recommended weight for deadlifts (which is still damn heavy for me). Guess I’ll know better next time . I had planned on going M-T-Th-F this week but I might let this sit for a day and do M-W-Th-S-S.

Breakfast was organic multigrain oats w/ flax, almond butter (100% roasted almonds) and a banana.

The best foods I had in Costa Rica were ceviche, which is totally healthy, and fried plantains, which is totally unhealthy. Dessert consisted mostly of fresh pineapple and coconut. I didn’t diet, but it surely wasn’t a gain-10-lbs-in-a-week gelato and pasta fest. Italians have life right, just sayin’.

Anyone made ceviche at home? Got any good recipes?

 

Leave a comment